Meet the Board - Jami Inman and Robert Corbin

 Table of Contents  

Message from
the President
Science Leadership
Fellows Update 
Meet the Board:
Inman and Crobin
Mountains to the Sea:
East and West
Linda Stroud
Receives Award
Spring Meeting Recap
Member Highlight:
Dell Ruff

 Jami Inman, NCDPI Liaison

inmanI am honored to serve as your NCDPI Liaison on the NCSLA Board of Directors. I have been a Secondary Science Consultant for the K-12 Science Section at the NC Department of Public Instruction since February 2010. My previous education experience with Cumberland County Schools includes teaching chemistry, physics, and physical science for 17 years and serving as a Science Curriculum Specialist for 10 years.

On a personal note, I have 3 grown, married children who are all educators and have been blessed with 5 amazing grandchildren and 1 more coming in August! My husband and I live near Topsail Beach and enjoy their visits.




corbinRobert Corbin, Director

Robert Corbin is a Doctor of Philosophy and  National Board Certified Science Teacher serving as Director of Global Initiates for Discovery Education.  Robert served as VP of Learning Experiences at the Discovery Place Science Center in Charlotte, NC between 2006 and 2016. He is a North Carolina Science Leadership Fellow, associate professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and adjunct professor at Wingate University. He is an Arts and Science Council Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Christa McAuliffe Fellow, North Carolina Science Leadership Fellow, Duke University Sawyer Fellow, Time Warner Cable All Star Teacher, Ben Craig Award recipient, Omnicron Psi Outstanding Science Teacher, Whitehead Educator of Distinction, and NAGT Outstanding Earth Science Teacher of the United States.   He has written curriculum for Al Gore's film Inconvenient Truth, Michael Pollan's Botany of Desire, the Weather Channel, Environmental Literacy Council, ASPCA, Duke TIP, and the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. He serves on boards for the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Appalachian State University, Wingate University, Mccoll Center for the Visual Arts and Johnson C. Smith University.