Nominations Sought for the 2014 Herman and Emma Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina

The NCSLA Herman and Emma Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina goes to the person who has exemplified the high standards the late Herman Gatling of Durham County set in his job and in his life. This award recognizes the recipient for her/his many contributions as an outstanding science education leader in the state of North Carolina. It is presented at the fall membership meeting held prior to the NCSTA Professional Development Institute. Herman was given the first award posthumously in 1989; his wife, Emma, accepted the award on behalf of the family. This annual award is jointly sponsored by NCSLA and the Carolina Biological Supply Company.

Nominations are now being sought for this prestigious award. All nominees should exemplify the descriptors of this award described above and on the NCSLA website.  They must also be current members of NCSLA.  The award will be presented at our fall meeting.

 The Nomination Form and supporting Letters of Recommendation should be submitted electronically no later than October 15, 2014 Information and nomination forms are available on the NCSLA website.

For further information contact Nicolette Cagle, NCSLA Awards Committee Chair, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., (615) 347-1499.

Past recipients of this award:

  • Herman Gatling (1989)
  • Chuck Vizzini (1990)
  • Mack Baker (1991)
  • Mike Jackson (1992)
  • Ernest Bibby (1993)
  • Stan Hill (1994)
  • Rachel Clark (1995)
  • Garrett Tomlinson (1996)
  • Fred Beyer (1997)
  • John Packenham (1998)
  • Pat Bowers (1999)
  • Norman Anderson (2000)
  • Jake Brown (2001)
  • Peggy Holliday (2002)
  • Jack Wheatley (2003)
  • Karen Dawkins (2004)
  • Joyce Hilliard-Clark (2005)
  • Jason Painter (2006)
  • Fran Nolan (2007)
  • Carr Thompson (2008)
  • Darlene Ryan (2009)
  • Judy Benton Day (2010)
  • Rick Wilkerson (2011)
  • Sam Houston (2012)
  • Lisa Grable (2013)