2013 Michael C. Jackson Distinguished Service Award Nominations Sought

NCSLA annually gives the Distinguished Service Award to a person who has performed great service to science education in North Carolina and beyond. In 2008 this award was renamed in honor of Michael C. Jackson, a founder of NCSLA. Since its inception, Fisher Scientific Education has generously sponsored this award. It will be presented on April 27, 2013 at the NCSLA spring membership meeting.

Nomination packets for this award are due no later than March 31st! Please take the time to nominate a deserving candidate who has provided distinguished service to benefit science education in NC. The nominee does not have to be a member of NCSLA. Please try to keep your nominations confidential. Former winners include:

• Fred Allen (1999)

• Charles Coble (2000)

• Jessie Jones (2001)

• David Haase (2002)

• Vallie Guthie (2003)

• Tom Bell (2004)

• Manley Midgett (2005)

• Steven Dyche (2006)

• Judy Jones (2007)

• Beth Snoke Harris (2008)

• Brenda Evans (2009)

• Fred Beyer (2010)

• Bob Panoff (2011)

• Cindy Moss (2012)

Nominations can be be completed online and include:

  1. Completed nomination form.
  2. 3-5 Letters of recommendation or support.
  3. Short vita or resume. (optional but recommended)

For questions regarding nominations contact Wayne Fisher at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Submitted by Wayne Fisher
NCSLA Awards Chairperson