Congratulations to the science educators listed below on being selected for the prestigious Science Leadership Fellow Program offered by the North Carolina Science Leadership Association (NCSLA). The program is sponsored by the North Carolina Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education Center and the Burroughs Wellcome Foundation as well as NCSLA.

 Table of Contents  

Message from
the President
New Fellows Cohort
2017 Fall Meeting
Gatling Awardee
Mountains to the Sea
In Memory of
Mike Jackson

The two-year program is designed to foster the development of leadership skills that are necessary for leaders to operate effectively in various leadership positions in science/STEM education. The Fellows immerse themselves in topics such as qualities and behaviors of leaders, the change process, leadership styles, effective committee selection, strategic leadership, conflict resolution, grant proposal writing, developing budgets, the importance of networking, understanding educational policy, and planning/presenting effective professional development.

2018-2019 Science Leadership Fellows

Jessica Croson
Covey Denton
Jennifer Stalls
Jenna Hartley
Liz Jones
Tom Savage
Valerie Sellars
Meredith Mitchell
Ryan Battle
Pamela Johnson
Andi Webb
Jennifer Carson
Sebastian Byers
Stephen Roman
Jamie Smith
Brittany Reid


Join NCSLA today! 


NCSLA is seeking new members interested in

  •  increasing the number of students entering science careers
  •  improving teacher preparation in science fields
  •  advancing the future of science education in NC
  •  opportunities to demonstrate leadership

NCSLA Tweets!

Help document funding inequities, and what it costs to offer high quality science instruction. Take this 5-10-minut…
Do you use Vernier probeware? If so, check out this exciting contest with impressive prize money: