The 2020 Gatling Award Goes To...

 Table of Contents  

Message from
the President
Fall Webinars Recap
Science Leadership
Fellows Update
 NCSLA Nominees
for Office
Jackson Award
Nominations Needed
Gatling Awardee is...
Spotlight on
Informal Science
Celebrate Mountains
to the Sea
NSTA Resources


The Herman and Emma Gatling Outstanding Award for Science Education Leadership winner was honored during the December webinar. This award goes to a person who has gone above and beyond the requirements of the workplace and provides outstanding leadership and service to science education at the district, regional, and state levels. The award is named in honor of the late Herman and Emma Gatling.  As science educators and leaders, they worked tirelessly in Durham City Schools during challenging times. The Award is supported by Carolina Biological Supply Company. Each year, Carolina Biological present a $1,000 award to the winner and wewould like to thank them for their support.

You can find our 2020 winner presenting at NCSTA, NSTA, Bridging the Gap, and NCSLA providing her insightful contributions to better science education. Her ability to work with others and bring congeniality and humor to any work situation makes working with her a pleasure.

Our winner has worked with NCDPI developing science curriculum projects for fifth grade teachers across the state. She was also selected as an instructor for a weeklong science institute for teacher in grades 3-5 offered at the Center for Mathematics and Science Education at UNC CH. Her knowledge of content and pedagogy was instrumental in working with less- than-confident teachers across the state.

NCSLA is no stranger for our winner. She was selected for the 2007-2009 cohort for the Science Leadership Fellows Program. As an emerging leader, she was elected as an NCSLA Director-at-Large for three years. Her third position with NCSLA was to chair the Science Leadership Fellows Program, where she served with enthusiasm, knowledge, and hard work,

while pursuing her doctorate and teaching full-time. Our winner has received the prestigious Burroughs Wellcome Foundations Career Award for Science and Mathematics Teacher award, the Shell Urban Science Leader, and a runner up for the NSTA Shell Lab Award. She has also served on the Development Advisory Board and the Professional Development Committee for NSTA and recently elected to a 3-year term as NSTA District VI Director.

This is a comprehensive picture of the many ways our winner has contributed as a science/STEM educator. She is truly outstanding in her many accomplishments. It is with great pleasure that we announce this year’s Herman and Emma Gatling winner, Michelle Ellis!

Print   Email