Log in

Log in

The Herman and Emma Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina

The NCSLA Herman Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina award goes to the person who has exemplified the high standards the late Herman Gatling of Durham County set in his job and in his life. This award recognizes the recipient as the outstanding science education leader in the state of North Carolina. Herman was given the first award posthumously in 1989; his wife, Emma, accepted his award on behalf of the family. This annual award is sponsored by the Carolina Biological Supply Company.

The recipient of the Gatling Award should be one who has gone above and beyond the requirements of the workplace and provided outstanding leadership and service to science education at the district, regional, and state levels and beyond. The award is presented at the time of the Fall NCSLA membership meeting, typically held in November.

Criteria for Nomination:

  • Nominees should exemplify the descriptors of this award listed above.
  • Nominees must be current members of NCSLA and must have been a member for at least one year prior to nomination.
  • Nomination Packets must be complete and submitted on time.

Nomination Packet:
The forms for the Nomination Packet are linked below. The Nomination Packet contains:

    Nomination Form
      • nominee information;  
      • supervisor information, if applicable;  
      • nominator information; and  
      • names and contact information of those who will be writing Letters of Recommendation
        Letters of Support
          • 3-5 letters highlighting specifics about how the nominee has been exemplary in providing outstanding science leadership in North Carolina.
          (Optional) Brief--no more than three pages--vita with specifics of the nominee’s work history, professional affiliations and service within those organizations, honors/awards, and other pertinent information that provides professional information about the nominee.

                Submission of Nominations:

                • All nominations are to be submitted electronically using this web site.
                • The Nomination Form must be received no later than midnight December 15.
                • The Letters of Support must be received no later than midnight December 15.

                For further information, contact Ann McClung, NCSLA Awards Committee Chair

                Past Recipients of the Gatling Award

                • Herman Gatling (1989)
                • Chuck Vizzini (1990)
                • Mack Baker (1991)
                • Mike Jackson (1992)
                • Ernest Bibby (1993)
                • Stan Hill (1994)
                • Rachel Clark (1995)
                • Garrett Tomlinson (1996)
                • Fred Beyer (1997)
                • John Packenham (1998)
                • Pat Shane (1999)
                • Norman Anderson (2000)
                • Jake Brown (2001)
                • Peggy Holliday (2002)
                • Jack Wheatley (2003)
                • Karen Dawkins (2004)
                • Joyce Hilliard-Clark (2005)
                • Jason Painter (2006)
                • Fran Nolan (2007)
                • Carr Thompson (2008)
                • Darlene Ryan (2009)
                • Judy Benton Day (2010)
                • Rick Wilkerson (2011)
                • Sam Houston (2012)
                • Lisa Grable (2013)
                • Alisa Wickliff (2014)
                • Tammy Lee (2015)
                • Pamela Gilchrist (2016)
                • Elaine Franklin (2017)
                • Carol Moore (2018)
                • Lisa Rhoades (2019)
                • Michelle Ellis (2020)
                • Manley Midgett (2021)
                • Beverly Lyon (2022)


                Beverly Lyon, the 2022 recipient of the Hermann and Emma Gatling Award.

                About Herman and Emma Gatling

                Herman Pernell Gatling (1933-1988) and Emma Martin Gatling were both strong leaders in science education. Mr. Gatling attended school in Northampton County and then earned his bachelor of science and master of science degrees from North Carolina Central University, graduating Magna cum laude on both levels. He taught science at both Carver High School in Mount Olive and Hillside and Durham High School in Durham. In 1968, he was asked to serve as the Director of Secondary Education and later the Science and Mathematics Coordinator for Durham County Schools, a position he held until his demise. Mr. Gatling was an advocate of education─teaching science at the Governor’s School for several years; participating in numerous professional educational organizations; and providing strong leadership to schools and school systems during challenging times.

                Emma Martin Gatling (1936-2008) was a graduate of Carver High School and later received a bachelor of science degree from Bennett College in Greensboro. She began her teaching at her high school alma mater where she was introduced to the science teacher, Herman Gatling. They married within that school year. She was an outstanding educator committed to the “no child left behind” concept before it was conceived. She received many recognitions for exemplary teaching including the Durham City Schools Teacher of the Year Award and the Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Award.

                The Herman and Emma Gatling Award for Outstanding Science Education Leadership in North Carolina was established to honor an educator who exemplifies the high standards Herman and Emma Gatling set in their work and lives. Mr. Gatling received posthumously, the first award in 1989.



                  About us

                  NCSLA provides opportunities for science educators to exchange ideas and information, promote the cause of quality science instruction, and influence the creation of policies and legislation.

                  UPCOMING EVENTS


                  Donations to the Ernest R. Bibby Trust Fund are tax deductible and help insure that NCSLA programs and services are ongoing.
                  Goal: $1,000.00
                  Collected: $150.00
                  Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software