Log in

Log in

Michael C. Jackson Distinguished Service Award

NCSLA Annually gives a Michael C. Jackson Distinguished Service Award to the person who has performed a great service to science education in North Carolina. The award is sponsored by ExploreLearning and is presented a the Spring Meeting.

To nominate someone, whether a NCSLA member or not, for this award, complete the nomination form, and submit it no later than October 15. Please consider nominating anyone who has been a tremendous help to your or your area or to science education in North Carolina. We encourage you to keep your nominations confidential. Nominations that are not awarded will be held over for consideration in subsequent years.

Completed nomination packets should include the following:
1. Completed nomination form
2. Letters of recommendation or support
3. Short resume' or vita of the nominee (optional)

The Distinguished Service Award was renamed in 2008 in honor of Michael C. Jackson, a founder of NCSLA. 

For further information, contact Ann McClung, NCSLA Awards Committee Chair.

Past Recipients of the Jackson Distinguished Service Award

  • Fred Allen (1999)
  • Charles Coble (2000)
  • Jessie Jones (2001)
  • David Haase (2002)
  • Vallie Guthie (2003)
  • Tom Bell (2004)
  • Manley Midgett (2005)
  • Steve Dyche (2006)
  • Judy Jones (2007)
  • Beth Snoke Harris (2008)
  • Brenda Evans (2009)
  • Fred Beyer (2010)
  • Bob Panoff (2011)
  • Cindy Moss (2012)
  • Charlie Lytle (2013)
  • Todd Boyette (2014)
  • Linda Stroud (2015)
  • Ann McClung (2016)
  • Carla Billups (2017)
  • Gail Jones (2018)
  • Gina Barrier (2019)
  • Brenda Berg (2020)
  • Angela Adams (2021)
  • Michelle Chadwick (2022)
  • Michelle Hafey (2023)


Michelle Hafey received the 2023 Distinguished Service Award.

About Michael C. Jackson (1942-2017)

It is all together fitting and proper to recognize individuals for the outstanding contributions they have made. This evening, the North Carolina Science Leadership Association is honoring Mike Jackson as one of those individuals. The North Carolina Science Leadership Association is deeply indebted to Mike; if it were not for him and the colleagues he rallied into action when he was Region C Director for NSELA, NCSLA might not be in existence today. Through his determined efforts, a nucleus of science educators met, planned, organized, and NCSSA was born.

For many years, science supervisors in North Carolina met informally prior to the NCSTA conference. As science education became increasingly complex and many school systems shifted their science supervisors to other positions, the need for a professional organization became apparent. Thus, in 1989, the North Carolina Science Supervisors Association (NCSSA) was organized as a non-profit group. By 1994, the organization had grown to include many types of science leaders other than science supervisors, and the organization's name was changed to the North Carolina Science Leadership Association (NCSLA) to reflect that growth.

The North Carolina Science Leadership Association is pleased to honor Mike and his many contributions to science education by naming its Distinguished Service Award the Michael C. Jackson Distinguished Service Award.

Michael Conoly Jackson was born in Spivey's Corner, NC, and raised in Person County. He graduated from Roxboro High School. Mike is a true-blue NC State person; he received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees (under Norm Anderson, Jack Wheatley, Charlie Lytle, and Sally Berenson) all from NCSU.

Mike taught science for 35 years in North Carolina, including service at Lenoir Community College, East Carolina University, Camp Lejeune Schools, Southeastern Community College, and most recently at the Tarheel Challenge Academy.   

Mike’s distinguished service to science education included being Regional Director for NSELA and President of three science associations: NCSTA (1982), NCSLA (1991), and NSELA (1992).  After many years of teaching, in 2006 Mike retired to Sampson Co. at Spivey's Corner to live in his great grandfather's farm house where he rescued chocolate labs, restored church gardens, traveled, and enjoyed each day of life. Dr. Michael Conoly Jackson passed away on December 28, 2017.



About us

NCSLA provides opportunities for science educators to exchange ideas and information, promote the cause of quality science instruction, and influence the creation of policies and legislation.



Donations to the Ernest R. Bibby Trust Fund are tax deductible and help insure that NCSLA programs and services are ongoing.
Goal: $1,000.00
Collected: $150.00
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software